Mariah Carey, Jeff Bridges, Jason Reitman, Jeremy Renner, T Bone Burnett to Receive Awards at 21st Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival 

Wow, the list of well-deserved artists receiving awards at the 21st Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival just gets longer and longer! The Awards Gala will kick off the 2010 awards season on Tuesday, January 5th at the Palm Springs Convention Center.

I’m so excited! This is a fantastic film festival in my neighborhood! For more info on the Palm Springs International Film Festival, visit their official site right here.

First stop, we have Mariah Carey receiving the Breakthrough Performance Award for her performance in Lionsgate’s “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire.” I agree! Her performance in that film is great. And I know she thinks she looks like a “monster” in the film sans make up, but honestly? I think she looks a lot better without make up!

Then we have the great Jeff Bridges. He’s set to receive the Desert Palm Achievement Award. Festival chairman Harold Matzner said, “Jeff Bridges’ career is the very embodiment of the Desert Palm Achievement Award, which was created to acknowledge acting excellence, and years of consistent and memorable work. This year, in his remarkable performance in Crazy Heart, he once again shows us why he is considered one of America’s greatest actors.”

I could not agree more!

Past honorees of the Desert Palm Achievement Award include Daniel
Day-Lewis, Sean Penn, Jake Gyllenhaal, Liam Neeson, Nicolas Cage, John Travolta and James Stewart.

Third, we have, writer-director Jason Reitman who’s receiving the Director of the Year Award for “Up in the Air.” Truly well deserved!

Check out my fun one-on-one interview with Reitman for "Up in the Air" right here where he commented about the Festival and how good it was to him when he was just a struggling filmmaker.

Fourth is Jeremy Renner set to receive the Breakthrough Performance Award for “The Hurt Locker,” one of my favorite films of the year, and one of my favorite performances of 2009!

Last, we have T Bone Burnett receiving the Frederick Loewe Award for Film Composing for “Crazy Heart.” Great choice!

Congratulations everyone!

[ 31 comments ] ( 1316 views )   |  permalink  |   ( 3 / 1171 )

<<First <Back | 671 | 672 | 673 | 674 | 675 | 676 | 677 | 678 | 679 | 680 | Next> Last>>