"Inception's" Wally Pfister Tops American Society of Cinematographers Awards! 

Wally Pfister, the brilliant cinematographer of Christopher Nolan's "Inception" won big at the 25th Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Outstanding Achievement Award in the feature film competition.

Pfister, receiving his first ASC Award, beat Matthew Libatique ("Black Swan"), Danny Cohen ("The King's Speech"), Jeff Cronenweth ("The Social Network"), and Roger Deakins ("True Grit"). All of the nominees are also Oscar-nominated this year.

Jonathan Freeman took home the Outstanding Achievement Award in the Television Episodic Series/Pilot Category for his work on the "Boardwalk Empire" episode entitled "Home."

Steven Windon claimed the top honor in the Television Movie/Miniseries for the "Okinawa" episode of "The Pacific."

Here's the rest of the press release from the ASC:

Oscar®-winner Tom Hanks presented the Board of Governors Award to the Julia Roberts in recognition of her tremendous body of work and contributions to the art of filmmaking. Roberts earned an Academy Award® in 2001 for her powerful role in ERIN BROCKOVICH, and Oscar® nominations for her heartfelt character portrayals in STEEL MAGNOLIAS and PRETTY WOMAN. Her films have grossed more than $2.5 billion worldwide. Hanks and Roberts star together in CHARLIE WILSON’S WAR and the upcoming LARRY CROWNE.

The presentation of the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award to 10-time ASC Award nominee Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC by Joel Coen was a highlight of the memorable evening. Deakins has also earned nine Oscar® nominations. Five of those films were written and directed by Joel and his brother Ethan Coen (TRUE GRIT; NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN; THE MAN WHO WASN’T THERE; O BROTHER, WHERE ART THOU?; FARGO). He won ASC Awards for THE MAN WHO WASN’T THERE in 2002 and THE SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION in 1995.

The ASC International Award was presented to John Seale, ASC, ACS by acclaimed director Michael Apted. They collaborated on the Oscar®-nominated film GORILLAS IN THE MIST. Seale’s credits include THE ENGLISH PATIENT, for which he won an Oscar®, as well as COLD MOUNTAIN, RAIN MAN, and WITNESS, among others.

The Career Achievement in Television Award was presented to Emmy®-winner Michael O’Shea, ASC (CSI: MIAMI) by John C. Flinn III, ASC. The ASC Presidents Award was given to renowned photographer Douglas Kirkland by Ellen Kuras, ASC.

ASC also recognized the next generation of cinematographers with the presentation of the ASC William. A. Fraker Student Heritage Award to undergraduate student Boyd Hobbs of Full Sail University and graduate student Dagmar Weaver-Madsen of UCLA.

“The 25th anniversary of the ASC Awards is a celebration of the best that we can be, and an inspiration for those who will tell memorable visual stories in the future,” said ASC President Michael Goi. “It is a milestone in our ongoing celebration of the power an indelible photographic image has to move an audience, influence social change, and communicate who we are within a snapshot in time.”

Last year, Christian Berger, AAC won the ASC feature award for THE WHITE RIBBON.

[ 20 comments ] ( 1261 views )   |  permalink  |  related link  |   ( 3 / 1022 )

<<First <Back | 473 | 474 | 475 | 476 | 477 | 478 | 479 | 480 | 481 | 482 | Next> Last>>