"Silver Linings Playbook," "Moonrise Kingdom" Lead 28th Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominations 

Actors Anna Kendrick, Zoe Saldana and Common presented the nominees for the 28th Film Independent Spirit Awards in a press conference on Tuesday, November 27 at 10:00 am at The W Hotel in Hollywood.

Both "Silver Linings Playbook" and "Moonrise Kingdom" lead the nominations including best picture where they will compete with "Beasts of the Southern Wild," "Bernie," and "Keep the Lights On."

Directors Wes Anderson ("Moonrise Kingdom") and David O. Russell ("Silver Linings Playbook") are also nominated in the best director category along with Julia Loktev ("The Loneliest Planet"), Ira Sachs ("Keep the Lights On"), and Benh Zeitlin ("Beasts of the Southern Wild").

And actor Matthew McConaughey's transformation is now complete. He is nominated for both best actor ("Killer Joe") and best supporting actor ("Magic Mike").

Winners of the 28th Film Independent Spirit Awards will be announced on February 23, 2013 when they will hold their traditional Saturday afternoon awards show in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica. The live-to-tape event will be executive produced by Diana Zahn-Storey, who returns for her 17th broadcast, and will premiere later that evening on IFC at 10:00 pm ET/PT. Film Independent members are eligible to vote for Spirit Award winners.


BEST FEATURE (Award given to the Producer, Executive Producers are not awarded)
Beasts of the Southern Wild -- PRODUCERS: Michael Gottwald, Dan Janvey & Josh Penn
Bernie -- PRODUCERS: Liz Glotzer, Richard Linklater, David McFadzean, Dete Meserve, Judd Payne, Celine Rattray, Martin Shafer, Ginger Sledge, Matt Williams
Keep the Lights On -- PRODUCERS: Marie Therese Guirgis, Lucas Joaquin, Ira Sachs
Moonrise Kingdom -- PRODUCERS: Wes Anderson, Jeremy Dawson, Steven Rales, Scott Rudin
Silver Linings Playbook -- PRODUCERS: Bruce Cohen, Donna Gigliotti, Jonathan Gordon

Wes Anderson
-- Moonrise Kingdom
Julia Loktev -- The Loneliest Planet
David O. Russell -- Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs -- Keep the Lights On
Benh Zeitlin -- Beasts of the Southern Wild

Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola
-- Moonrise Kingdom
Zoe Kazan -- Ruby Sparks
Martin McDonagh -- Seven Psychopaths
David O. Russell -- Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs -- Keep the Lights On

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)
Fill the Void
-- DIRECTOR: Rama Burshtein; PRODUCER: Assaf Amir
Gimme the Loot -- DIRECTOR: Adam Leon; PRODUCERS: Dominic Buchanan, Natalie Difford, Jamund Washington
Safety Not Guaranteed -- DIRECTOR: Colin Trevorrow; PRODUCERS: Derek Connolly, Stephanie Langhoff, Peter Saraf, Colin Trevorrow, Marc Turtletaub
Sound of My Voice -- DIRECTOR: Zal Batmanglij; PRODUCERS: Brit Marling, Hans Ritter, Shelley Surpin
The Perks of Being a Wallflower -- DIRECTOR: Stephen Chbosky; PRODUCERS: Lianne Halfon, John Malkovich, Russell Smith

Rama Burshtein
-- Fill the Void
Derek Connolly -- Safety Not Guaranteed
Christopher Ford -- Robot & Frank
Rashida Jones & Will McCormack -- Celeste and Jesse Forever
Jonathan Lisecki -- Gayby

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD - Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director, and producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.
Breakfast with Curtis
Middle of Nowhere -- WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Ava DuVernay; PRODUCERS: Howard Barish, Paul Garnes
Mosquita y Mari -- WRITER/DIRECTOR: Aurora Guerrero; PRODUCER: Chad Burris
Starlet -- WRITER/DIRECTOR: Sean Baker; PRODUCERS: Blake Ashman-Kipervaser, Kevin Chinoy, Patrick Cunningham, Chris Maybach, Francesca Silvestri
The Color Wheel -- WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Alex Ross Perry; WRITER: Carlen Altman

Linda Cardellini
-- Return
Emayatzy Corinealdi -- Middle of Nowhere
Jennifer Lawrence -- Silver Linings Playbook
Quvenzhané Wallis -- Beasts of the Southern Wild
Mary Elizabeth Winstead -- Smashed

Jack Black
-- Bernie
Bradley Cooper -- Silver Linings Playbook
John Hawkes -- The Sessions
Thure Lindhardt -- Keep the Lights On
Matthew McConaughey -- Killer Joe
Wendell Pierce -- Four

Rosemarie DeWitt
-- Your Sister’s Sister
Ann Dowd -- Compliance
Helen Hunt -- The Sessions
Brit Marling -- Sound of My Voice
Lorraine Toussaint -- Middle of Nowhere

Matthew McConaughey
-- Magic Mike
David Oyelowo -- Middle of Nowhere
Michael Péna -- End of Watch
Sam Rockwell -- Seven Psychopaths
Bruce Willis -- Moonrise Kingdom

Yoni Brook
-- Valley of Saints
Lol Crawley -- Here
Ben Richardson -- Beasts of the Southern Wild
Roman Vasyanov -- End of Watch
Robert Yeoman -- Moonrise Kingdom

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)
How to Survive a Plague -- DIRECTOR: David France; PRODUCERS: David France, Howard Gertler

Marina Abramović: The Artist is Present -- DIRECTOR: Matthew Akers; PRODUCERS: Maro Chermayeff, Jeff Dupre
The Central Park Five -- DIRECTORS/PRODUCERS: Ken Burns, Sarah Burns, David McMahon
The Invisible War -- DIRECTOR: Kirby Dick; PRODUCERS: Tanner King Barklow, Amy Ziering
The Waiting Room -- DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Peter Nicks; PRODUCERS: Linda Davis, William B. Hirsch

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)
Amour (France)
-- DIRECTOR: Michael Haneke
Once Upon A Time in Anatolia (Turkey) -- DIRECTOR: Nuri Bilge Ceylan
Rust And Bone (France/Belgium) -- DIRECTOR: Jacques Audiard
Sister (Switzerland) -- DIRECTOR: Ursula Meier
War Witch (Democratic Republic of Congo) -- DIRECTOR: Kim Nguyen

16th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 16th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.
Nobody Walks -- PRODUCER: Alicia Van Couvering
Prince Avalanche -- PRODUCER: Derrick Tseng
Stones in the Sun -- PRODUCER: Mynette Louie

19th ANNUAL SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 19th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.
-- DIRECTOR: David Fenster
Gimme the Loot -- DIRECTOR: Adam Leon
Electrick Children -- DIRECTOR: Rebecca Thomas

STELLA ARTOIS TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 18th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.
-- DIRECTOR: Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel
The Waiting Room -- DIRECTOR: Peter Nicks
Only the Young -- DIRECTOR: Jason Tippet & Elizabeth Mims

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD - (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)
-- Director: Sean Baker; Casting Director: Julia Kim

Ensemble Cast: Dree Hemingway, Besedka Johnson, Karren Karagulian, Stella Maeve, James Ransone

[ 38 comments ] ( 1367 views )   |  permalink  |   ( 3 / 1562 )

<<First <Back | 257 | 258 | 259 | 260 | 261 | 262 | 263 | 264 | 265 | 266 | Next> Last>>