More Love for "Amy!" Documentary Leads IDA Awards Nominees 

The International Documentary Association (IDA) has revealed the nominees for the 2015 IDA Documentary Awards. Winners will be announced at their annual awards gala to be held on Sunday, December 5 at the Paramount Theater in Los Angeles.

The nominees of the 31st Annual IDA Documentary Awards are:

Best Feature
"The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution"
"Listen to Me Marlon"
"The Look of Silence"
"The Russian Woodpecker"
"What Happened, Miss Simone?"

Best Short Documentary
"Body Team 12"
"Claude Lanzmann: Specters of the Shoah"
"The Face of Ukraine: Casting Oksana Baiul"
"Last Day of Freedom"

ABC News VideoSource Award
"Best of Enemies"
"Don't Think I've Forgotten: Cambodia's Lost Rock and Roll"
"Night Will Fall"
"What Happened, Miss Simone?"

Curated Series Award
"30 For 30" (ESPN)
"Independent Lens" (ITVS/PBS)
"Storyville" (BBC)
"America Reframed" (WORLD Channel)

Limited Series Award
"Blood Brothers" (Vara Television)
"Hard Earned" (Al Jazeera, Kartemquin Films)
"The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst" (HBO)
"Life Story" (Discovery)
"Rebel Architecture" (Al Jazeera English)

Episodic Series Award
"Chef's Table" (Netflix)
"Morgan Suprlock Inside Man" (CNN, Warrior Poets)
"Nova" (PBS)
"The Seventies" (CNN, Playtone, Herzog & Company)
"This is Life With Lisa Ling" (CNN, part2 pictures)

Short Form Series Award
"Do Not Track"
"Highrise: Universe Within"
"The New York Times Op-Docs"
"POV Interactive Documentaries"
"We Are the Economy: 20 Short Films You Can't Afford to Miss"

Courage Under Fire Award: Matthew Heineman, "Cartel Land"

Pare Lorentz Award: "How to Change the World," dir. Jerry Rothwell

Best Cinematography: "The Russian Woodpecker," cinematography by Artem Ryzhykov

Best Editing: "Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck," edited by Joe Beshenkovsky and Brett Morgren

Best Music: "Best of Enemies," score by Jonathan Kirkscey

Best Writing: "Listen to Me Marlon," written by Stevan Riley, co-written by Peter Ettedgui

Career Achievement Award: Gordon Quinn

Amicus Award: Tony Tabatznik and the Bertha Foundation

Pioneer Award: Ted Sarandos

Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award: Lyric R. Cabral and David Felix Sutcliffe, "(T)error"

[ add comment ] ( 5 views )   |  permalink  |   ( 3 / 526 )
Cinema Eye Honors Unforgettables 

Cinema Eye has announced the year's most notable nonfiction film subjects they call "The Unforgettables." Thanks to Variety, we have the list. And The Unforgettables are:

Peter Anton/”Almost There”

Amy Winehouse/”Amy”

Lizzie Velásquez/”A Brave Heart: The Lizzie Velásquez Story”

Jose Manuel Mireles/”Cartel Land”

Paul Mangwana/”Democrats”

Brenda Myers-Powell/”Dreamcatcher”

Shannon Whisnant/”Finders Keepers”

Iris Apfel/”Iris”

Adi Rukun/”The Look of Silence”

William “Dub” Lawrence/”Peace Officer”

Fedor Alexandrovich/”The Russian Woodpecker”

Seymour Bernstein/”Seymour: An Introduction”

Yula/”Something Better to Come”

Saeed “Shariff” Torres/”(T)error”

The Angulo Brothers/”The Wolfpack”

[ add comment ] ( 4 views )   |  permalink  |   ( 3 / 525 )
Nominees for the 25th Gotham Independent Film Awards 

Winners will be announced on November 30th. Here's the complete list of nominees for the 25th IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards:

Best Feature
"The Diary of a Teenage Girl"
"Heaven Knows What"

Best Documentary
"Approaching the Elephant"
"Cartel Land"
"Heart of a Dog"
"Listen to Me Marlon"
"The Look of Silence"

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director
Desiree Akhavan for "Appropriate Behavior"
Jonas Carpigano for "Mediterranea"
Marielle Heller for "The Diary of a Teenage Girl"
John Magary for "The Mend"
Josh Mond for "James White"

Best Screenplay
"Carol," Phyllis Nagy
"The Diary of a Teenage Girl," Marielle Heller
"Love & Mercy," Oren Moverman and Michael Alan Lerner
"Spotlight," Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer
"While We’re Young," Noah Baumbach

Best Actor
Christopher Abbott in "James White"
Kevin Corrigan in "Results"
Paul Dano in "Love & Mercy"
Peter Sarsgaard in "Experimenter"
Michael Shannon in "99 Homes"

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett in "Carol"
Blythe Danner in "I’ll See You in My Dreams"
Brie Larson in "Room"
Bel Powley in "The Diary of a Teenage Girl"
Lily Tomlin in "Grandma"
Kristen Wiig in "Welcome to Me "

Breakthrough Actor
Rory Culkin in "Gabriel"
Arielle Holmes in "Heaven Knows What"
Lola Kirke in "Mistress America"
Kitana Kiki Rodriguez in "Tangerine"
Mya Taylor in "Tangerine"

Special Jury Award for Ensemble Cast: Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Liev Schreiber, John Slattery, Stanley Tucci and Brian D’Arcy James for their ensemble work in "Spotlight."

[ add comment ] ( 6 views )   |  permalink  |   ( 3 / 409 )
"The 33" Movie Review 

The true story of the 2010 collapse of a Chilean mine and the rescue of the 33 miners who were trapped underground for 69 days is explored in the new movie “The 33” from director Patricia Riggen. Antonio Banderas, Lou Diamond Phillips, and Juliette Binoche star. “The 33” opens nationwide on November 13.

[ add comment ] ( 5 views )   |  permalink  |   ( 3 / 475 )
Antonio Banderas Talks About “The 33” 

Honestly? Talking to Antonio Banderas made me feel like a #TBT Madonna way back in “Truth or Dare.” He’s still handsome, and charming, and sweet! In this interview, we talked about his experience watching the Chilean miners live when it happened and his real-life counterpart Mario Sepulveda.

“The 33” opens nationwide on Friday, November 13th.

[ add comment ] ( 5 views )   |  permalink  |   ( 3 / 510 )

<<First <Back | 78 | 79 | 80 | 81 | 82 | 83 | 84 | 85 | 86 | 87 | Next> Last>>