The Houston Film Critics Society (HFCS) has announced its nominees for the best of the best of 2023.  Winners will be revealed on January 22.  Here is the complete list of nominations:

“American Fiction”
“Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.”
“The Color Purple”
“Godzilla Minus One”
“The Holdovers”
“Killers of the Flower Moon”
“Past Lives”
“Poor Things”

Alexander Payne, “The Holdovers”
Christopher Nolan, “Oppenheimer”
Greta Gerwig, “Barbie”
Martin Scorsese, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Yorgos Lanthimos, “Poor Things”

Actor – Leading
Andrew Scott, “All of Us Strangers”
Cillian Murphy, “Oppenheimer”
Jeffrey Wright, “American Fiction”
Leonardo DiCaprio, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Paul Giamatti, “The Holdovers”

Actress – Leading
Emma Stone, “Poor Things”
Fantasia Barrino, “The Color Purple”
Greta Lee, “Past Lives”
Lily Gladstone, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Margot Robbie, “Barbie”

Actor – Supporting
Dominic Sessa, “The Holdovers”
Mark Ruffalo, “Poor Things”
Robert De Niro, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Robert Downey Jr., “Oppenheimer”
Ryan Gosling, “Barbie”

Actress – Supporting
Danielle Brooks, “The Color Purple”
Da’Vine Joy Randolph, “The Holdovers”
Emily Blunt, “Oppenheimer”
Rachel McAdams, “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.”
Rosamund Pike, “Saltburn”

Celine Song, “Past Lives”
Christopher Nolan, Kai Bird and Martin Sherwin, “Oppenheimer”
Cord Jefferson, “American Fiction”
David Hemingson, “The Holdovers”
Greta Gerwig and Noah Baumbach, “Barbie”
Tony McNamara, “Poor Things”

“The Boy and the Heron”
“Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem”
“Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”
“Robot Dreams”

Hoyte Van Hoytema, “Oppenheimer”
Linus Sandgren, “Saltburn”
Robbie Ryan, “Poor Things”
Rodrigo Prieto, “Barbie”
Rodrigo Prieto, “Killers of the Flower Moon”

“20 Days in Mariupol”
“American Symphony”
“Beyond Utopia”
“The Eternal Memory”
“Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie”

Foreign Language
“Anatomy of a Fall”
“Godzilla Minus One”
“Perfect Days”
“Society of the Snow”
“The Zone of Interest”

Robbie Robertson, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Ludwig Göransson, “Oppenheimer”
Jerskin Fendrix, “Poor Things”
Joe Hisaishi, “The Boy and the Heron”
Daniel Pemberton, “Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”

“I’m Just Ken” from “Barbie”
“Dance the Night” from “Barbie”
“What Was I Made For?” from “Barbie”
“Keep It Movin’ ” from “The Color Purple”
“Meet in the Middle” from “Flora and Son”

Visual Effects
“The Creator”
“Godzilla Minus One”
“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3”
“Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning Part One”
“Poor Things”

“The Iron Claw”
“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3”
“John Wick: Chapter 4”
“Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning Part One”
“Polite Society”

“Killers of the Flower Moon”
“The Holdovers”
“The Iron Claw”

Texas Independent Film Award
“Breaking the Code”
“Chocolate Lizards”
“I’ll Be There”
“A Town Called Victoria”