Best Picture

Winner: Poor Things

Runner-up: Oppenheimer

Top Ten Films of the Year

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.


The Holdovers

John Wick: Chapter 4

Killers of the Flower Moon

May December

Past Lives

Poor Things

Robot Dreams

Best Animated Film

Winner: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

Runner-up: Robot Dreams

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: The Zone of Interest

Runner-up: Godzilla Minus One

Best Documentary Film

Winner: Kokomo City

Runner-up: 20 Days in Mariupol

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: David Hemingson, The Holdovers

Runner-up: Samy Burch (screenplay/story) and Alex Mechanik (story), May December

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Tony McNamara, Poor Things 

Runner-up: Greta Gerwig and Noah Baumbach, Barbie

Best Director

Winner: Yorgos Lanthimos, Poor Things

Runner-up: Christopher Nolan, Oppenheimer

Best Lead Performance

Winner: Emma Stone, Poor Things

Runner-up: Cillian Murphy, Oppenheimer

Best Supporting Performance

Winner: Mark Ruffalo, Poor Things

Runner-up: Robert Downey, Jr., Oppenheimer

Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance

Winner: Hailee Steinfeld, Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

Runner-up: Shameik Moore, Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

Best Ensemble Acting

Winner: Poor Things

Runner-up: Oppenheimer

Best Musical Score

Winner: Ludwig Göransson, Oppenheimer

Runner-up: Robbie Robertson, Killers of the Flower Moon

Breakout of the Year

Winner: Celine Song, Past Lives

Runner-up: Charles Melton, May December

Best Cinematography

Winner: Hoyte van Hoytema, Oppenheimer

Runner-up: Dan Laustsen, John Wick: Chapter 4

Best Editing

Winner: Jennifer Lame, Oppenheimer

Runner-up: Thelma Schoonmaker, Killers of the Flower Moon

Best Stunt/Movement Choreography

Winner: Jeremy Marinas (fight coordinator), Scott Rogers (stunt coordinator) and Stephen Levy (stunt choreographer), John Wick: Chapter 4

Runner-up: Jennifer White (choreographer) and Lisa Welham (associate choreographer), Barbie

Original Vision Award

Winner: Poor Things

Runner-up: Barbie

The Edward Johnson-Ott Hoosier Award*

Winner: Director Sam Mirpoorian, Greener Pastures

*As a special honor, no runner-up is named for the Hoosier Award. It is named after founding IFJA member and longtime NUVO Newsweekly critic Edward Johnson-Ott.

About IFJA: The Indiana Film Journalists Association was established in 2009 to celebrate cinema and promote quality film criticism in the Hoosier State. To be eligible for our awards, a film must have had a general release on any platform during the current calendar year, screened to IFJA critics in advance of a following year release date, or play in a major Indiana film festival.